Seventy per cent of a film comes out of this one · review
Polk Audio Monitor XT35 centre speaker review
A four-woofer centre from a range that also makes matching floorstanders, surrounds and height modules — which is what makes a system out of a speaker.
The bottom line A well-built centre from a range that lets a system grow — with the two figures that would let it be compared left unpublished.
Why the range matters more than the speaker
Polk’s Monitor XT line includes floorstanders, bookshelf speakers, surrounds and a height module. Buying a centre from it means the front three share drivers and crossover design, and a voice moving across the screen stays the same voice. That is timbre matching, and it is the strongest argument for choosing within a range.
The driver arrangement
Four 3-inch woofers. Each moves less for the same output, which lowers distortion at the levels dialogue actually occupies. The cost is width: this is a wide cabinet, and it needs the shelf.
What Hi-Res certification is
A defined mark with frequency response requirements, so it is checkable. What it does not describe is sensitivity, impedance or how the speaker sounds — and this listing publishes none of those.
What is missing
Sensitivity and impedance. In a centre channel, which works harder than any other, those two decide whether your receiver drives it comfortably. Canton publishes both on this shelf; this listing does not.
Where it belongs
At the centre of a Polk system. In a mixed system it is a good speaker whose main advantage — matching — does not apply.
Availability
On sale from 250 € to 270 € on the German, American, British, French, Italian and Spanish Amazon stores at the time of checking.
Prices and availability are what Keepa reported on the date this page was updated; both move.
Prices quoted in this text were read on 4 September 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.
What we like, and what we don't
Strengths
Four woofers rather than two, which spreads the work and keeps distortion down at dialogue level
From a range with matching floorstanders, surrounds and height modules — a system can be built and extended
Hi-Res certification stated, which is a defined mark rather than a claim
Compromises
No sensitivity and no frequency response published in this listing
A four-woofer centre is a wide cabinet and needs the shelf space
The materials are named without their measured consequences
Specifications
Configuration
Four 3-inch woofers with Dynamic Balance — stated
Tweeter
Terylene, Hi-Res certified — stated
Certification
Hi-Res Audio certified — stated
Sensitivity
Not stated in this listing
Frequency response
Not stated in this listing
Amazon reference
B09BMWZ29F (same reference on 6 Amazon marketplaces)
EAN
0747192133399
Questions people actually ask
Do four small woofers beat two large ones?
They move a similar amount of air with less excursion each, which lowers distortion at a given level. They also make the cabinet wider. It is a design choice rather than a hierarchy, and in a centre speaker under a television, width is often available where depth is not.
Does Hi-Res certification mean anything?
It is a defined mark with frequency response requirements attached, so it is more than a marketing phrase. What it does not tell you is how the speaker sounds, and it says nothing about sensitivity or impedance — the two figures that decide whether your receiver can drive it.
80/140 W · 8x dB sensitivity stated · 30–30 000 Hz · crossover 400/3 000 Hz · 160 mm woofer
The only speaker in this catalogue with a complete published specification — sensitivity, frequency range, crossover points and driver diameters, all stated.
Best for: A system built from components where the centre has to be chosen on published figures rather than on a brand.